www.railway.gov.bd Hit Counter : 32645 Home |Admin | Contact | Information Mirror | History |
All Cadre PMIS

e-Ticket Procedure

Purchase e-Ticket



BANGLADESH RAILWAY, covering a length of 2,877. 10 route kilometres  managed by 26,458 regular staff, is Government-owned and Government managed transportation agency of the country.

Some Historical Events :

15 Nov. 1862 Construction of 53. 11 Km. of Broad Gauge line between Darsana and Jagati of Kushtia district by Eastern Bengal Railway.
I Jan. 1871 Extension of Darsana - Jagati railway line upto Goalanda, by Eastern Bengal Railway.

1874-1879 Construction of Metre Gauge railway line from Sara (near Paksey) to Chilahati, Parbatipur to Dinajpur and
Parbatipur to Kaunia and construction of Broad Gauge railway line from Damukdia (Opposite to Sara) to Poradaha.

1882-84 Bengal Central Railway Company constructed Benapole­ Khulna Broad Gauge railway line.

I Jul. 1884 Government took over the management of Eastern Bengal Railway­

4 Jan. 1885 Railway Metre Gauge connection between Dhaka and Narayangonj, a distance of 14.90" km. by Dhaka State Railway, which was later on merged with Eastern Bengal State Railway.

1885 Construction of Dhaka ‑ Mymensingh railway section by Dhaka State Railway.

I Apr. 1887 Eastern Bengal Railway was merged with Northern Bengal State Railway.

1891Construction of the Assam ‑ Bengal Railway taken up with British Government assistance but was later on taken over by Assam‑Bengal Railway Company.

I Jul. 1895 Opening of 149.89 km. Metre Gauge lines between Chittagong and Comilla and 50.89 km. Metre Gauge lines
between Laksam and Chandpur by Assam Bengal Railway.

3Nov.1895 Chittagong to Chittagong port line was constructed.





Construction of Metre Gauge railway line from' Comilla to  Akhaura and Akhaura to Karimgonj.



Single line section between Darsana and Poradaha converted into double line section.



Mymensingh - Jagannathgonj Metre Gauge railway constructed.



Metre Gauge railway line constructed between Santahar Jn. to Fulchhari by Brahmaputra-Sultanpur Railway Company



Laksam - Noakhali section constructed by Noakhali (Bengal) Railway Company.

I April. 1904



Bengal Central Railway Company and Brahmaputra- Sultanpur Railway Company taken over by Govt. managed Eastern Bengal Railway.



Opening of Kaunia-Bonarpara Metre Gauge section. Govt. purchased the Noakhali (Bengal) Railway Company.

I Jan. 1906


Noakhali (Bengal) Railway Company merged  with Assam Bengal Railway.


Poradaha-Bhairamara single line converted into double line.



Akhaura -Tongi section opened. Conversion of Shakole  to Santahar Metre Gange section into Broad Gauge.


Kulaura - Sylhet section opened.

I Jan. 1915


Harding Railway Bridge was opened over the river Padma at Paksey.



Sara - Sirajgonj line constructed by Sara - Sirajganj Rail way Company.


Bhairamara-Raita Broad Gauge section opened.




Gouripur - Mymensingh - Netrokona and Shamgonj -Jhariajanjail sections constructed by Mymensingh – Bhairab Bazar Railway Company.



Bhairamara - Ishurdi - Abdulpur single line section converted into double line.

10 Jun. 1918


Rupsha - Bagerhat Narrow Gauge section constructed by a Branch line Company.

Jul. 1924


Conversion of Santahar - Parbatipur Metre Gauge section into Broad Gauge.

Sep. 1926


Conversion of Parbatipur - Chilahati Metre Gauge section into Broad Gauge.


Opening of Shaistagonj- Habigonj section.



Tests - Kurigram. Narrow Gauge section converted into broad Gauge.


Shaistagonj-Balla and Chittagong-Hathazari sections opened.



Hathajari - Nazirhat Matte Gauge andAbdulpur – Amnura Broad Gauge sections opened.



Sholashahar-Dohazari section opened.

6 Dec. 1937


Opening of king VI George Bridge connecting Bhairab Bazar and Ashugonj over the river Meghna.


Jamalpur-Bahadurabad metre  Gauge section opened.

I Jan. 1942



Assam - Bengal Railway taken over by Government and amalgamated with the Eastern Bengal Railway under the name " Bengal and Assam Railway”

I Oct. 1944

Government took over Sara-Sirajgonj Railway Company.





Bengal and Assam Railway was split up and the portion within the boundary of erstwhile East Pakistan was named as " Eastern Bengal Railway " , the control remaining with Central Government of Pakistan.



Government takes over Mymensingh-Bhairab Bazar Rail way company and Rupsa-Bagerhat Branch Line Company.

21 Apr. 1951

Jessore-Darsana Railway line opened to traffic.

Oct. 1954

Sylhet to Chatak Bazar railway line opened to traffic.

I Feb. 1961

Eastern Bengal Railway renamed as Pakistan Eastern Railway.



A Railway Board was formed & management of Railway was placed under the Provincial Government.


Pakistan Eastern Railway was renamed as Bangladesh Railway after emergence of Bangladesh as sovereign state and continued to function under a Railway Board.

3 Jun. 1982

The Railway Board was abolished and its function was placed under the control of Railway Division of Ministry of Communications with the Secretary of the Division being Director General. For administrative convinience and operational reasons, BR was bifurcated into two zones, East and West zone, headed by two General Managers.

12 Aug- 1995:

Bangladesh Railway Authority (BRA) was formed comprising 9 members with Hon'ble Minister for Minstry of Communications as Chairman, for giving policy guidance of Bangladesh Railway.

23 June- 1998:

East-West Railway connectivity over the mighty river Jumana was established from the day one, the day of formal opening of Joanna Multipurpose Bridge, after completion of construction of Broad Gauge track from Jamtoil to lbrahiniabad.

14 Aug-2003

 Direct BG Train. Communication between Dhaka (Joydebpur) and Raj shahl over Joanna Multipurpose Bridge was established by introducing first Intercity passenger Train after completion of construction of new Dual Gauge track from lbrahimabad toJoydebpur.

7 March-2004

 Direct MG train communication between Dhaka and Lalmonirhat was established.

9 Nov-2007

 Bangladesh has signed the intergovernmental agreement on the Trans Asian Railways(TAR) network as  20th signatory.

14 April-2008

Direct Communication between Dhaka & Kolkata was established by introducing "Maitree Express" Train.

4 March-20 10

 Introduction of ticket selling through mobile phone.

4 Dec.2011

Ministry of Railways formed by the Honorable Prime Minister under SRO-361 -Rules of Business 1996 Rule-3.

Home | History | Mirror Info | Contact | Enquiry Copyright 2008 Bangladesh Railway